Mobile Menu Open/Close

Circuit and Associate Judges

Circuit Judges

The Circuit Judges are elected to six-year terms of office. The Circuit Judges within the circuit elect a Chief Judge from among their members every two years. The Chief Judge has the general authority for all administrative matters arising in the circuit and may delegate duties as he/she deems appropriate. The Circuit Judges in Sangamon County select, and the Chief Judge appoints, a Presiding Judge to handle administrative matters in Sangamon County.

Associate Judges

The law also provides for the appointment in each judicial circuit of a number of Associate Judges based on population and other factors. Associate Judges are appointed by the Circuit Judges to four-year terms. There are currently ten Associate Judges in the 7th Judicial Circuit, eight of whom are seated in Sangamon County.  All judges’ salaries are paid by the State. The Circuit Judges have general jurisdiction over all cases. The Associate Judges have limited jurisdiction, except by special assignment.

Chief Circuit Judge of the Seventh Judicial Circuit of Illinois: Hon. Christopher E. Reif
Contact: Court Reporter Mary Ann Beard - 217-245-8520

Sangamon Circuit and Associate Judges
Sangamon County Complex
200 South 9th Street
Springfield, IL 62701

Circuit Judge: Ryan M. Cadagin, Presiding Circuit Judge of Sangamon County
Contact: Court Reporter Laura Berry - 217-753-6813

Circuit Judge: John M. Madonia
Contact: Court Reporter Tammy Wagahoff – 217-753-6391

Circuit Judge: Adam Giganti
Contact: Jenny Durr 217-753-6367

Circuit Judge: Gail L. Noll
Contact: Lee Ann Harris 217-753-6366

Circuit Judge: Raylene D. Grischow
Contact: Jenny Durr  - 217-753-6367

Circuit Judge: Robin Schmidt
Contact: Mary Filbrun-Kuhar  - 217-753-6365

Associate Judge: Rudolph M. Braud
Contact: Lee Ann Harris  - 217-753-6366

Associate Judge: Matthew J. Maurer
Contact: Mary Filbrun-Kuhar - 217-753-6365

Associate Judge: Jennifer M. Ascher
Contact: Jenny Durr  - 217-753-6367

Associate Judge: Colleen R. Lawless
Contact: Mary Filbrun-Kuhar - 217-753-6365

Associate Judge: Christopher G. Perrin
Contact: Mary Filbrun-Kuhar - 217-753-6365

Associate Judge: Dwayne A. Gab
Contact: Jenny Durr - 217-753-6367 

Associate Judge: Jack D. Davis II
Contact: Lee Ann Harris - 217-753-6366 

Associate Judge: Karen S. Tharp
Contact: Jenny Durr - 217-753-6367    

Greene County Circuit Judge
Greene County Courthouse
519 N. Main Street
Carrollton, IL 62016

Presiding Circuit Judge: Zachary Schmidt
Contact: Court Reporter Kathleen Bain217-942-6731

Jersey County Circuit Judge
Jersey County Courthouse
201 W. Pearl Street
Jerseyville, IL 62052

Presiding Circuit Judge: Allison Lorton
 Court Specialist, Stacy Herter - 
618-498-5571 Ext. 104

Macoupin County Circuit and Associate Judges
Macoupin County Courthouse
201 E. Main Street
Carlinville, IL 62626

Presiding Circuit Judge: Kenneth R. Deihl
Contact: Court Reporter Lisa Rook - 
217-854-3211 Ext. 265

Circuit Judge: April G. Troemper
Contact: Court Specialist, Haley Stephens - 
217-854-3181 Ext. 263


Associate Judge: Joshua A. Meyer
Contact: Court Reporter Tracy Mahan - 
217-854-3181 Ext 267

Morgan County Circuit and Associate Judges
Morgan County Courthouse
300 W. State Street
Jacksonville, IL 62650

Presiding Circuit Judge: Christopher E. Reif
Contact: Court Reporter Mary Ann Beard - 217-245-8520

Associate Judge: Jeffery E. Tobin
Contact: Court Reporter Amy Stidham - 217-243-2945

Scott County Circuit Judge
Scott County Courthouse
35 E. Market Street
Winchester, IL 62694

Presiding Circuit Judge: David R. Cherry
Contact:  Court Specialist, Bethany Doolin - 217-742-3173

Trial Court Administration

The Trial Court Administrator serves all judicial personnel within the circuit, is responsible for the daily administrative operation of courts and serves as a liaison to other state and county agencies.

Sangamon County Courthouse
200 S. 9th Street, Room 522
Springfield, Il 62701

Trial Court Administrator: Suzann Maxheimer - 217-753-6360

Court Administrative Secretary:  Morgan Kilberg - 217-753-6360

Administrative Assistant to the Cheif Judge: Danielle Martin - 217-753-6811

  • Associate Judge: John M. Madonia
  • Associate Judge: John M. Madonia